Thinking Ahead: Choosing a plane for IFR

MarkH

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
MarkH
I'm new to this and working on my PPL, but I plan to purchase a plane and get my IFR Cert. I have been considering many different planes, but I have a preference for E-AB. I have been looking at Avid Flyers (and clones), with the intention of buying one with a Rotax 912 (or upgrading to a 912 later) since it is a reliable (and certified) engine. But, when I mention this to another (more experienced) pilot he suggested that I should not use a Kitfox for IFR. I didn't have time to ask for an explanation as to why, so I am asking here.

I understand that the plane would be too light for flying into heavy winds, but my primary application of IFR would be landing/taking off from KNEW in fog (because New Orleans always has fog, and some of my family lives there).

My questions are, why wouldn't a plane like the Kitfox be good for calm, low clouds and fog IMC? Is there anything I could do to improve the plane for IMC flying? What would be good IFR/IMC ready alternatives to the kitfox in the same $25K to $40K experimental range?

Well first, I'd take "fog" out of your repertoire...not too many small planes for fog...at least not safely.

If I recall, Rotax doesn't like their engines to be used for IFR, although I'm not sure why they say that, or even if it matters in an experimental...

I feel this question will reveal my inexperience, but why can't most small planes handle fog? It seems (to my thought at least) that flying in the fog would be less about the plane and more about the pilot, avionics and situational awareness. What am I missing in this thought process?