Thinking about a home security system

bflynn

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Brian Flynn
But I have no real knowledge. It isn’t that we’re in an unsafe area, but I’m traveling more these days.

why do I want or not want one?

Unless you have local monitoring, they are more hassle than they are worth, primarily because it’s a subscription service.

Then you may need a local permit. And false alarm fees may be in your future.

I've lived in three houses with alarm systems. Only one required a permit and that was trivial to obtain (more of a registration than anything else). That jurisdiction also threatened false alarm fees after the second. Only had one in the years I had it. In my current area, I'm on pretty good terms with the local sheriff's deputies and they don't seem to sweat the false alarms. It's also wired up to the waterflow alarm for my home sprinkler system. Of course, I'm the only one in this county that has a dedicated sprinkler system. The fire marshall had us test it by opening the test valve, letting the alarms go off, having the central station call the fire department, and listening to the trucks being dispatched over the radio (before he called in and cancelled it). Sort of an end-to-end test.

The only problem is that my local company has been bought out twice, the last time by Briggs which is a complete disaster of a company.

Here’s my take on it. You can install cameras and motion sensors (Wyze makes nice ones) to alert you when something happens when you’re away. Eventually you’ll turn most of it off so you don’t get annoyed with alerts constantly. It’s pretty nice when you’re away, though. The recording and alerting will cost you a few bucks a year. It’s not going to call 911 if your house gets broken into, but in most areas that wouldn’t do much anyway because response times are so slow.