The wife wants a new plane

Challenged

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Challenged
Before I begin, let me first apologize since this is going to be a little long winded in order to explain my situation properly...hopefully you can make it to the bottom of the post.

As mentioned in my first post here, I'm a new Private Pilot, but I do currently own a Cessna 152 that I used for my PPL training as well as my checkride, and it's been great so far. I've been flying it as much as possible lately, in order to get all of the cross country PIC time required for my Instrument Rating.

That said, my wife finds it somewhat annoying that she can't take more stuff with her on our weekend trips, so we would both love to get a larger plane. The front-runner for me currently is a non-retract Cardinal.

While I don't have my high-performance/complex ratings yet, I do already have some time in a Bonanza F33 so I don't think it would take much more to get sign offs for those. My main reason for not wanting a Cardinal RG however, is really the extra expense for annual maintenance and insurance that I understand goes along with retractable gear.

The main use for our plane is to fly 100 nm to see her family, as well as 330 nm trips to Austin for pleasure. I imagine we'll be taking similar 100 to 300 nm trips to the beach and what not as time goes on. Currently I don't see us taking really long cross country trips into the mountains or anything like that, however...mostly just sea level flying.