The unclub unpartnership?

mikea

Touchdown! Greaser!
Gone West
Display Name

Display name:
iWin
Kent and I were talking and he suggested something that never occurred to me: I can share use of the plane without sharing ownership.

What if I let one or more other pilots fly my plane and pay me for the time flown, even a flat monthly for access?

I always thought there were all kinds of FAR rules that prevent that, but I'm thinking I only need a commercial setup if the plane was for used for hire.

I guess the only limitation is insurance so any other pilot have to be named on the insurance policy. I'd ask for the flat rate to cover the additional cost of insurance.

What I'm after is a way to fly the plane more often and share expenses without getting into a bad marriage. It would be a trial marriage for a potential new partner.

What d'ya think?

Now tell me all the ways it can't be done (Ron.)

Last edited:
That's what my deal is.......non-equity partnership. I'm a named pilot on the insurance and I pay a monthly fee. It really boils down to a club of sorts, PM me for more info.

I did that with my C-172, most insurance policies will allow up to three named pilots before jacking your rates or making you go to a commercial policy. I had my instructor and one of his students on mine and it worked out great for all.

It can be done lots of ways

The other pilot rents from you at an hourly rate dry. They maintain their own non owned policy. Thats what I do with a friend.

-If they meet your policy's "open pilot" requirements then your protected by both your and their policy at least for property damgage and hull damage.