The Sword of Damocles finally fell

Frank Browne

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
FB
Well, after 38 years on the job and at 55 years of age, today I got laid off. I have no idea what to do now. I'm still so in shock.

Sorry to hear it, Frank. Is early retirement an option?

That sucks Frank. But you can use this time to reinvent yourself and find something else to do that interests you. I know it can look bleak, many of my friends have been laid off and I have been teetering on the edge for a few years myself. But it is not the end of the world. While we may joke about being a Wal-Mart greeter there is more out there. The bad news is not one of my friends has found a job where they were making as much as the one they left. But many have found jobs that made them happy.

My experience is that, in the end, these turning points in life get you out of the rut and into better things.

Retirement is definitely not an option. Strange though, after it happened I suddenly noticed that the fear of it happening was gone. Well, maybe it was replaced with a new kind of fear. I dunno. Tomorrow is another day.

Retirement is definitely not an option. Strange though, after it happened I suddenly noticed that the fear of it happening was gone. Well, maybe it was replaced with a new kind of fear. I dunno. Tomorrow is another day.
The big thing I must caution you on is your medical/health insurance. What I have seen is even though you probably got some employee rate health insurance for a period of time, payroll will not be doing the automatic deductions for you any longer. If your payment is late by one day, they will drop you like a bad habit. This has been a huge problem for all of the people I know that have gotten laid off. Make sure that payment is there on time, a few days early is even better.