The problem with Cessna 172's in Colorado.

Tim Cobb

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
HairyGoateeGuy
I'm a new pilot but wanting to buy my first aircraft. I see lot of nice 172's on the market and they would serve my needs for the most part except. KFTG (Front Range Airport) is 5,500 MSL. This means the plane with 160 hp can't even haul 4 passengers on a warm day with a full load of fuel. The next step up is a Cessna 182 I guess. But more money and more fuel consumption. Anybody have any thoughts on this?

A 160 hp plane with four adults and full fuel can't do that from sea level either.

If you want to haul 4 big guys and 80 gallons of fuel, you need at LEAST 230 hp (Sea level), maybe 260 or 300 hp (which at DEN is 230 hp).

It's more money but no more fuel consumption. You get up to 11,000 feet and the thing will only burn 11.5 (The 260 hp Cessna 205) or 10.0 (the 230 hp Cessna 182). Much less AIR up there to make the right, burnable mixture.

First off shave the goatee - that'll save you five pounds right there. :D

A 180 (or higher) horsepower 172 is really nice up here. A 180 Cherokee is also an option. Of course another option is to just fly within the limits of the aircraft that you decide to purchase. I bought a turbo Dakota so I wouldn't have to give up so much at high density altitudes.

LOL Can't shave the goatee its a part of me! Never seen a thicker or bushier one. Its a Colorado landmark and can be seen from space.

I'm a new pilot but wanting to buy my first aircraft. I see lot of nice 172's on the market and they would serve my needs for the most part except. KFTG (Front Range Airport) is 5,500 MSL. This means the plane with 160 hp can't even haul 4 passengers on a warm day with a full load of fuel. The next step up is a Cessna 182 I guess. But more money and more fuel consumption. Anybody have any thoughts on this?

A general rule of thumb with general aviation planes is to consider them a compromise...