The people we meet.

jasc15

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Joe
Today I took a ride from KFRG to KMJX with my college physics professor who I managed to keep in touch with after I graduated. I got to the airport before him and he said to look out for an old grizzly 86-year-old guy who should already be there. I found him and introduced myself. I asked if he was also a pilot, and he says "for 66 years" and points to his hat which had a picture of a B-24 on it.

It was great to converse with this guy, and to see that he was still very much an active pilot, flying 2 to 3 times a week, he says. I got a brief history of his service, including his individual sentiments about August 6. He flew his 40th and final mission from Okinawa to bomb a city about 10 miles from Hiroshima on August 5, 1945. They were told not to take an opportunity run on Hiroshima under any circumstances, and he found out why the following day.

I've met vets before, and some in my family, but never anyone who was that close to history. Not to diminish their service in any way, but most were mechanics, medics, etc. (still light years beyond anything I have done). He was 19 at the time, and returned home after the war at only 20.

What struck me most is how he managed to keep doing what he loved the rest of his life. He later became manager of the FAA flight test branch in the Eastern US and collected 24 type ratings as well as logging 13,500 hours. He is still a ATP/CFI/CFII and said that he never charges for his time. He was very gracious and humble, and offered his time to me if I needed.

It's nice to still have some first hand folks from that time.

I've always wondered why so many military aviators returned home and never flew again.

My dad flew birddogs in Vietnam and hasn't flown since.