The Order of Things

JMac1773

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Jmac1773
Subtitle: What the Hell am I Doing?

Since I made my first post on here a few minutes ago I thought I would jump right in, say hello, and ask one of the impossible to answer questions.

Little background: My dad was a private pilot when I was a kid. Needless to say I've been looking skyward every since. It got in my blood. Deep.

Life, lack of money, etc. kept getting in the way of getting my PPL. Nothing new about that, I know. So now I'm almost 42 and I have a new-ish baby boy (future co-pilot) and an understanding and supportive wife now... so I figure it's time.

I've basically been around aviation my whole life. I understand the physics, the navigation (well, I'm getting there) etc. Suffice to say: I'm not coming at this from a total newbie perspective.

I've started on the Gleim ground school home study/online curriculum. I've been reading the "Private Pilot Handbook" by Machado and I'm waiting to read three other books after I finish that one. I've attended a meeting of a local flying club but have yet to join. I have yet to talk to one of their (very) qualified CFI's about arranging flight training. That is due in large part to the elephant in the room - money. Or the lack thereof. I don't have the time to take out a loan and go to a traditional ground school. I'm not a doctor who can afford a Mooney M20. I'm not an engineer who can buy his own Cessna 172. (I probably could never afford 150.) I'm not THAT guy. I'm a regular dude with a decent job but not a ton of disposable income. Capiche?

So here's my dilemma: Since I'm already studying ground school what would my logical next step be? I know I need to get the 3rd class medical out of the way fairly soon so I can sell all the books and ground school material in case I don't pass it. Here's what I'm thinking (in somewhat chronological order) and PLEASE feel free to chime in with your opinions.

Keep studying the ground school.