The great wide world...

John Wayne Jones

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
After leaving the Air Force and going through a particularly nasty divorce from my first wife, I did the pilot version of "going walkabout". I took my then-three year old daughter, and we bounced around the globe for several years.
I worked as a bush pilot in Alaska for awhile- absolutely beautiful place to fly, just...awe-inspiring. Quite deadly as well, I lost 11 friends in 10 months, all pilots who succumbed to Alaska's tricks. Ice fog, white outs, severe up and downdrafts, funky compass readings, long, long stretches (thousand miles or more) of NOTHING, not a soul in sight, constant darkness (up north) in winter...it's amazing how many ways Alaska tries to kill you. Then after fighting all of that for a 14 hour duty day, you have to cover your plane with a sheet that keeps the windshield clear of hoar frost overnight and put blankets over the nose or nacelles to keep engine heat in, and then plug the plane into an electrical outlet so the heaters will keep the oil from freezing. You're tired, it's dark, it's minus 40 F, your hands hurt like hell...and the hobbs isn't turning, so you're working for free.
Still...greatest flying on earth. I had flights in Alaska I wouldn't trade for another flight in my beloved F-15C. If you don't mind a story, here's one flight: