The apple doesn't fall far from the tree. Help please?

rbhankins001

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Rob
Well, this is a two-fold plea for advice. I will try to keep it short and sweet.

I am a student pilot. My Dad will turn 65 on Dec 10, 2011. He would like to make a parachute jump off the strut of a small plane (182?) and I would like to be at the controls.

Now before you say you wouldn't do that b/c what if something happened . . . please know this: We have talked about it, a lot. He says he will beat me to the ground lol. If something happens it's what he wants to do and wants me to be a part of it (even it it has to be delayed until my ppl is completed).

So the questions (at least the main two as far as we are concerned) are this:

1. Is it possible for him to jump solo (the only way he'll do it) ?? FWIW he made over 80 jumps in the army, including several from the commander of 101st airborne personal plane, helicopter, etc. This will be a low altitude jump (according to him). He packed hundreds of chutes, and was even testing expirimental chutes (which is what stoppped him from jumping more). He broke his pelvis on his last jump with an experimental parachute.

2. I am thinking we will need to be in something like a C182, but not sure? I own and fly regularly in a 150, and my friend's 172. Very comfortable with those. I don't need to land the plane, nor even take off in it, but it would be nice to log some time if the PIC is also a CFI. Will anyone out there let me be at the controls for this? (I am aware of COG shifts, losing airspeed when they're on the strut etc).

So what say you all?

I know my old man is crazy, but it's his life and I want him to be happy. I was choked up when he asked me and no way I could say no. This is something we both really want to do.

Thanks and see you on the ground (his words) !

-Rob