Test Prep

tonycondon

Gastons CRO (Chief Dinner Reservation Officer)
Display Name

Display name:
Tony
Well I'm deciding I need to start studying for ATP. Ill be 23 in April and hope to have access to an airplane to do the multi-ATP checkride. In the past I studied for writtens with Gleim books and read through the ASA Oral Exam guides. That was like 4 years ago. I see that ASA has software kits out now that are comprehensive. I have no experience with that type of study material, and i dont believe that any of my students have used it. Im kinda thinking that since i pretty much sit on my computer all the time i might as well be doing something productive like studying for ATP. What do you all use for study materials and what are your recommendation? thanks!

The ATP written doesn't have much more relevance to the realities of being an air carrier captain than any of the other writtens have to their corresponding certificates/ratings. The only difference is that for the Private, Instrument, Commercial, and CFI writtens, you will likely be exercising the full privileges of those certificates/ratings immediately upon passing the practical test, so you need to really learn the aeronautical knowledge material, not just pass the written. OTOH, American Airlines isn't going to drop you in the left seat of one of their jets the day after the DPE signs your ATP Temporary Airman Certificate. If you get hired by an airline, they will teach you everything you need to know in a way that you will truly learn it as opposed to just remembering the answers long enough to pass one written test.