Terrain Warning Alarm Issue G500

techflight

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
techflight
I am a student pilot training on a Piper Archer II which has a panel equipped with a G500 and GTN 750. For some reason when landing specifically at KPAO the audible terrain warning starts annunciating on final and it does get annoying especially during touch and goes. This doesn't seem to be a problem at any other airport we've landed at, but for some reason the system doesn't seem to recognize that I am intending to land at KPAO and therefore should not be warning me of terrain. The database is up to date, clearly knows that KPAO exists and even shows the runway in synthetic vision.

What am I missing here, and is there any way to solve this or at least temporarily easily silence the alarm when it comes on? Apologies if this is missing information and thank you for any help with this!

My guess is the terrain warning on the G500 is configured with a minimum runway length longer than KPAO’s runway (it’s pretty short IIRC).

My guess is the terrain warning on the G500 is configured with a minimum runway length longer than KPAO’s runway (it’s pretty short IIRC).
Thanks, that would make sense! Do you know how I could check / change that?

Is this a G500 or G500 TXi? It may also be the terrain alerting on the GTN that is generating the alert.

Last edited: