Tall guy in a T-Craft?? Any local planes in the Bay/Sac area?

audiododd

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Dodd
Hello all,

Are there any tall folks out there that fly a Taylorcraft BC-12D? I have the opportunity to get one in good shape for cheap, but I'm 6'3" (long legs, but fairly thin), and want to see if I'll fit in the thing. Also, does anybody have, or know someone that has, a BC model Taylorcraft in the SF Bay/Sacramento area that I could take a look at/try to wedge myself into.

Here's some background: I'm a student pilot with about 100 hours (yeah, I know...but life got in the way of training several times and I had to restart a few times) and am working on my checkride prep right now. I'm no stranger to taildraggers however, having logged about 50 hours (about 30 solo) during training in a C120. My dream plane (within some semblance of reality) is a Cessna Cardinal. My wife is disabled and those big, low doors would make getting in/out a dream for her. I doubt she'd fit too well in a T-craft, but I could always rent a 172 or something for any trips with her if it's too hard to get in.

That being said, I don't have the $50-60K for a Cardinal right now, but if I'm willing to fly it (or get it flown/transported) across the country, I can get this BC-12D for a song. There's no electrical system, so I'd be using handheld comms and flying around/under class Bs and Cs. I'd eventually like to get my instrument rating, but I've got to build some time first anyway.

What are your thoughts on building time (especially X-C time) in a T-Craft and do you think I'd fit? Also, flying it literally cross-country sounds like quite the experience, but it's about 25 hours (plus time for fuel/food/bathrooms) and I'd have to take a week or more off work to do it.

Thanks!