Taking the CFI Plunge

Chuck Dillon

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
grnbrt1956
Well folks after a lot of thought I have decided at the ripe old age of 52 to get my CFI, and pass on what little knowldge I have gained over the past few years onto others.

My biggest challange thus far is staying awake in order to read the instructor handbook for the FOI portion of the training! Now don't get me wrong there is some good stuff in there, but I have been a fire fighter instructor and CPR instructor now for 20 years and can see the value in this reading.

So any ideas/thoughts on getting thru this?

Thanks
Chuck

My biggest challange thus far is staying awake in order to read the instructor handbook for the FOI portion of the training! Now don't get me wrong there is some good stuff in there, but I have been a fire fighter instructor and CPR instructor now for 20 years and can see the value in this reading.

Having just read through that book myself for the FOI, I can sympathize. Was that ever boring. No real advice more than just sympathy - I basically forced myself to read it through. A chapter a night ended up being about as much as I could tolerate.

Good luck!

You might get the Jeppesen Flight Instructor Manual. It has the same information and much more. It's not as dry and easier to read.