Tailwheel endorsement - DONE

flyersfan31

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Freiburgfan31
The ink is still drying in my logbook.

I did my training at Andover Flight Academy, based at Aeroflex-Andover (12N) in New Jersey. Flew with Damian DelGaizo, known for teaching Harrison Ford as well as his video Tailwheel 101.

I can proudly say that I earned this one. Damian is a stern taskmaster. Good is not good enough. He really holds your flying to high standards, and I am a much better pilot for it. He didn't let me get away with close-enough, or almost, or kind-of. He knows his stuff, cold. He's very good at explaining the details of WHY you do something, and how it affects the aircraft. Eventually he was able to get everything through my thick skull enough to be satisfied with my abilities.

I highly, highly recommend flying with Damian if you are anywhere within striking distance. Andover NJ is kinda in the boonies, but worth the trip. The airport alone is beautiful; nestled in a valley with lakes at either end of the runway.

Flying a tailwheel plane, like the Top Cub I flew in, is so much fun it should be illegal. If you have a chance - DO IT!!!!!

(Now if only I could convince Mrs. Flyersfan that we need a Super Cub....)

CONGRATS!!!!

It's on my list of things to get done. Rob said he really enjoyed his tailwheel time and with the endorsement was able to t/o and land the stearman in Ohio......at least I got stick time.

I agree! Surprise her with it and base it at Wings. I will keep it exercised for you :D

It has got to be one of the best things I have done for my flying. Really keeps you thinking about the plane all the way to a stop, which improved every landing I have flown since.

Congratulations!

I did my training at Andover Flight Academy, based at Aeroflex-Andover (12N) in New Jersey. Flew with Damian DelGaizo, known for teaching Harrison Ford as well as his video Tailwheel 101.