T-Port vs Tie Down

davidm767

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Davidm767
Howdy Folks,

I have an oppurtunity to jump into a T-Port (think Car port...roof no sides) at the North Perry Airport (South Fort Lauderdale area). I have to respond quickly however (next in line). Would a T-Port be worth it for my Grumman Tiger? Its $250/mo (yes aviation is even more expensive in the city) versus the $60/mo in tiedown fees. I have canopy/wing/tail covers.

Is it worth it? I dont have money burning holes in my pocket, I'm a younger pilot inbetween gigs, and will likely seek out partners to help with expenses.

Thanks,

Dave M

Is it worth it? I dont have money burning holes in my pocket, I'm a younger pilot inbetween gigs, and will likely seek out partners to help with expenses.

I think you answered your own question. I'd make sure I had good strong tie downs and anchors in the ground, and stay with the tie down. The difference is a lot of flying fuel and not a strain on the wallet.

Get much hail? If you are already protecting the plane from the sun with your covers that is about the only thing a port will protect from. You could consider calling your insurance company as well, my rates are lower because I am hangared.

Judging by the condition of used boats/cars from FL i'd take the port for the sun protection.

Protection from the sun, yes! But the birds love nesting in some of them, especially those constructed with Z or C purlins. I'd definitely ask a current renter if birds are an issue before I said yes. Of course, that's only about three months of hassle...during the nesting season...at least that's how long the bird hassle lasts here.

Come on up to MO. You can get a nice t-hangar with a concrete floor, power door, lights and that's only a few years old for...

...$125/mo.

We call those things 'hail sheds' hereabouts.