Sysadmin Appreciation Day

denverpilot

Tied Down
Display Name

Display name:
DenverPilot
Not that anyone ever remembers it. LOL. No one at work did, as usual.

Here, you can watch the musical. It’s headed for Broadway, probably. Hot stuff. Haha.

Here’s today’s fun. We have six companies in the building. All of the company names start with “i3”. It’s a branding thing. Don’t ask.

Anyway...

The tech support report from a user of the day?

“My i3 isn’t opening.”

Right. That’ll nail it right down, thanks for that detailed report. :)

i3WHAT for GOD’S SAKES?! Could you just cut and paste the link to the thing you think is broken that 100 other people are using just fine?!

Smile and nod. Smile and nod.

I like this better. "Sysadmin" day is sort of like HOA day. And I used to be a sysadmin, and on the board of a Home Owner Association.
mail

National Scotch day is Friday, July 27 2018. (Today)

Would this be the same day as the system admins at a place where I worked sent out an email - alerting us that email was down. Yes, we got the email 3-4 hours later, when the system was back up.

What’s to appreciate. The stuff barely works.

Sysadmins don’t write the **** code and don’t grandiosely call themselves software “engineers” while cranking out repetitively broken code that has the same bugs in it decade after decade.

We just use duct tape and bailing wire to barely keep it running.

Take away the sysadmins and most of it would just crash and burn, and maybe rightly so. Sure would thin the coder herd if any of them had to get up at 2AM to make a system they wrote operational again.

I'd have sent the sysadmin a box of donuts and cold Mountain Dew, but one of 'em would've eaten half a donut and others would complain for not getting pepsi . . . . .

Today I got paid to teach someone who’s used Windows professionally for over a decade how the Recycle Bin works.

Not kidding. The Recycle Bin.