Syncope and 3rd Class Deferral

onegorgeousgiraffe

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
onegorgeousgiraffe
Good Evening, everyone.

I'm a student pilot currently waiting on my deferral to twitch. Everything was submitted July 12th and since then has been "under review."

Several years ago, while on active duty, I was rushing in the morning and partially choked on some cereal. I fixed it but the pain caused me to lose consciousness for a few seconds. My gf called 911 and I was taken for eval. Long story short, the doc I had was an ass and tried to medically separate me for it. I went through an entire medical board process and even flew to DC to argue my case in person. They found me completely fit to continue service. As part of it I had extensive workups from Cardiology and Neurology and the only recommendation they had was to chew my food better. It's a completely normal and expected bodily response.

It's recently hit 90 days and I'm ready to solo if not for the medical deferral. I'm reading accounts from others that are taking much less time (~6 weeks) and am basically asking for a reality check here: is this abnormal? The people on the phone each week are very nice and have put me on the "list of people who's cases haven't moved in a while but we admit this list does nothing but it makes you feel better, I guess?" list.

Thanks for your time.

Patience but verify?

I also had syncope. Twice.

Med part later.

How were your records submitted?

After a long wait a doc bud enquired on my behalf at Oshkosh.

FAA said they never received them!

Of course the feds are to blame. Wrong!

It turns out the AME never sent them in!

My case required faxing 55 pages of records.

I was told this might have been easier with Regional rather than Oklahoma.

Once everything was delivered it went well.

It could be there are negative comments from the “ Donkey Doc” along with

positive tests that have to be sorted out.