Survey – Decline of Personal General Aviation

Timbo70

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Timbo70
Hello everyone, I am a fellow GA pilot and a graduate student at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University working on my capstone project (aka thesis). I am conducting a survey of US certificated pilots (sport/recreational and above) as part of my research into isolating the factors most responsible for the decline in personal/recreational general aviation flight activity during the last 15 years. I would greatly appreciate if you could take a few moments of your time to participate in the survey. The data you provide may assist in better understanding why PGA flight activity is in decline and lead to more focused efforts towards reversing the decline.

The survey is located at the following URL and will be open from 2 to 18 Feb 13.

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/pgadecline2

Anyone interested in receiving a copy of the final paper or the research proposal can e-mail me at: timmonst@my.erau.edu

Thank you for your assistance,
Tim Timmons, COM AMEL, CFI

Last edited:
Operating costs have gone up at a higher rate in the past 10 years than incomes have. That's pretty much it. We can say it's regulations, or we can say it's this, or that, but it comes down to money. That's going to be the reason for 90% of the people out there. Want to reverse the decline. Get everyone massive raises, or get the fuel costs to stay in line with incomes.

The survey hardly touched on someo of my main reasons for decreased flying hours and why I sold my aircraft.

1) TSA/DHS
2) Equippage requrement

The survey hardly touched on someo of my main reasons for decreased flying hours and why I sold my aircraft.

1) TSA/DHS
2) Equippage requrement