Surprise! 430/530 WAAS upgrade delayed -- indefinitely

We have a saying in my area: "Mañana doesn't mean tomorrow! It means 'not today'!"

But look at how much extra stuff they're going to include in the upgrade.

SARCASM OFF>

It just means they'll now sell you that GNS530W instead of upgrading to WAAS in your current box.

When I was looking to buy a GPS, everybody kept saying I should get a 430 because it's WAAS upgradable. I work in the software industry and my BS detector went off because:

1) At the time, the WAAS standard had not been established
2) "Upgradable" doesn't mean "free"

So, I got a GX-60 instead. Between the price difference and simpler installation, I saved $2000-3000. 4 years later, there is still no WAAS upgrade available for the 430. I have no regrets.

JustinPinnix said:
So, I got a GX-60 instead. Between the price difference and simpler installation, I saved $2000-3000. 4 years later, there is still no WAAS upgrade available for the 430. I have no regrets.
Considering that it costs more than $2000-3000 to install a VOR/ILS on top of the GX-60, and the GX-60 doesn't have nearly the features of the 430, that doesn't sound like a very good deal at all.

I'm a big fan (on paper) of the GNS-480, despite the recent change in it's restrictions.

is it no longer approved as sole navigator?

i also really enjooy using the 480. my FBO's 421 has a 480 with MX-20 MFD. the overview that those two give, especially the big screen on th MX 20, are fantastic!

The FAA has not changed its c146 approval of the 480 -- Garmin has, however, issued a Service Bulletin on it. If you're a 121 or 135 operator, you must abide by the SB, and you cannot use your 480 as a sole souce system. OTOH, unless/until the FAA turns it into an AD, Part 91 operators can decide for themselves whether or not to adopt the SB, and thus may legally continue to use their 480 as a sole source unit. Personally, I think this is one SB I'd adopt -- I just don't like finding goats in clouds.