Sure glad I DIDN'T roll the trucks

Captain

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
First Officer
Ive been listening to this advise since I was a student pilot. People going on and on about NOT declaring an emergency for this or that. Pilots (many) can be very reluctant to declare...for jaw dropping issues too. There's a thread now about not declaring for a lost AI in the soup. I even posted a thread where I was scolded for calling an "aborted" takeoff for an engine failure. And someone here even agreed I should have been scolded!

So, could anyone please share the negative consequences for declaring an emergency? Tell us all about the fee or fine you had to pay. The Letters of investigation, suspensions, or cert revocations you've received as a result. Has a fire truck run over a pax? Did ATC give you 'tone' or yell at you? Did your CFI call you up later and laugh?

Did your insurance go up? Wife stop making you breakfast? Does you dog no longer play with you? Really...ANY negative effects as a result of declaring an emergency is what I'm looking for. I can't think of any.

I suppose pax MAY be unsettled by seeing the trucks. But by the time they see the trucks you're on the ground and safe...or you're not safe and are happy to see the trucks. I honestly can't think of a single reason NOT to declare, but am eagerly awaiting a few good reasons to soldier on in silence in a busted plane.

I've declared an emergency a few times and had one "declared for me" in a couple of others.

Most of the time, NOTHING happens. In one case when I told the control tower I was coming back to land, they rolled the ANG fire brigade on me. The sum total of paperwork was giving them my name and phone number. Never heard anything further.