Stupid Turbocharging Question

weirdjim

Ejection Handle Pulled
Display Name

Display name:
weirdjim
The difference between supercharging and turbocharging is that a supercharger requires a compressor of its own while turbocharging uses the energy of exhaust gas to do the work via turbine blades running a compressor.

I'm just a poor sparky engineer, not a materials or thermo cat. Matter of fact if it hadn't been for a kindly thermo professor taking pity on me I might not have been an engineer at all.

That's another story. What ever happened to supercharging using, say, an electric compressor motor? Seems you'd have a hell of a lot less problems with something that doesn't run at the temperature of exhaust gas.

Just a question, mindya.

Jim

What ever happened to supercharging using, say, an electric compressor motor? Seems you'd have a hell of a lot less problems with something that doesn't run at the temperature of exhaust gas.

Jim, I am no thermodynamic engineer either. I do know that the key word to "why" is efficiency. There is a lot of energy in the exhaust gas, and unless it is harnessed with a turbocharger, that energy is wasted. Superchargers and the electric powered rig you envision will also boost your available power but the efficiency will be less than an equivalent power setting on a turbocharged rig on the same engine.

On ground or marine vehicles, you just bolt on another fuel tank. On airplanes, not so much.

-Skip

Definitions are a bit off. Both a turbocharger and supercharger have a compressor of some sort that compresses the intake air. For a centrifugal supercharger, it is similar to a supercharger. Roots and twin-screw superchargers use a different design, but still compress the inlet air. The supercharger gets its power from the engine directly. On a car, typically it's belt-driven. On an aircraft, it's another accessory that is typically gear-driven.