Stupid electric aircraft question

Pi1otguy

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Fox McCloud
Will electric aircraft have better "fuel" gauge requirements than conventional aircraft?

Somehow dubious accuracy of current fuel gauges sounds scary when one can't visual check electrical charges.

Also, are they going to low voltage cut offs? The whole issue that some chemistries are damaged if over-discharged.

Will electric aircraft have better "fuel" gauge requirements than conventional aircraft?

Somehow dubious accuracy of current fuel gauges sounds scary when one can't visual check electrical charges.

Also, are they going to low voltage cut offs? The whole issue that some chemistries are damaged if over-discharged.

I've been driving a plug in hybrid for the last seven years. My experience is that the percent of battery left is accurate. How far that percent will take you is not, because it varies greatly depends on your speed and the terrain, it takes a lot of energy to climb. There is a battery management system that determines when you are out of battery, in automobiles, this prevents the overdischarge of the battery. I would guess in an airplane it would let you know the percent left until the management system would consider the battery fully discharged, but would let you continue pulling power out of the battery until there was no more, and then tell you to have the batteries checked if you went past the point of a normal full discharge.

I suspect it will be quite a while before there are electric airplanes for cross country use.

i've heard the batteries have a little glass window so you check when it's full of electrons.

In seriousness, electric car batteries get measured as %full and I expect airplanes will do the same. As mentioned above, how far a set percentage will take you will depend on altitude and what you're doing - climb, cruise, descend. I'm sure the POH will have the numbers to compute this.