Studying for the PPL Written test.

Snaggletooth

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Dustin
I'm studying for the PPL Written test, and my CFI told me to read FAR part 61 and Part 91 but not all of it, and for the life of me I can't remember where he said to start! Can anyone tell me where I should start, or do I just read all of it?

Thanks,
Snaggletooth

Check the pages at the front of the book... (depending on the publisher) they may just tell you which parts are recommended for a PP to review.

If you want to know what part he said to study, why ask us? Ask him! :D

I know, you don't want to seem stupid or forgetful, but...

You will find, as you move towards the PP check ride, that knowing all the answers is not as important as knowing how to get the answers, and not being embarrassed to admit you have to sometimes. ;)

I see a lot of posts in which the poster says "I can't find it in the regs...." and it turns out that all s/he knows about them is in Part 61 or 91. An FAA ops inspector once gave me a list of about twenty agencies with regulations that apply to pilots, from the FCC to the Bureau of Land Management with lots in between (and I've lost the list). Just limiting yourself to the FARs, you should at least be familiar with the provisions of Part 67 (medical) and Part 43 (maintenance).

Bob Gardner

Why the hell would you read such dribble....?

If you are studying for the test and want a GREAT grade 90+.....then....

Purchase a question and answer book. Read the question and ONLY Highlight only the correct answer. When you finish all the questions go back and read the questions and only read the correct answer. Do this for 3 days, each day before the written test. You will pass with a 90+....Worked for me!!

BLECCH!!!!

Study Gleim. Do the tests. Study Gleim. Then do one or two Sporty's online tests for a week and you'll get a 95. I GUARANTEEE it.

We just discussed that last fall in this thread, and here's what I wrote there: