Student tries to get a flight in on vacation in Italy

LongRoadBob

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Jacker
My wife found a retreat in Italy that was in an old monastery in Umbria region where it was nine days with yoga and Italian cooking courses. Just got back. It was grueling. Never had more than an hour or two between sunrise and sunset (yoga began at 7:00 each morning...ugh) of free time.

Anyway, I'm a new student with all of three flying hours, and some months of theory. Towards the end of our time there I see a small plane fly over and land somewhere down in the valley below behind some trees so I couldn't see the runway. It was some distance off.

So I got on google maps, and tried to find the airport. It took a long time, I couldn't find any runways, but saw a long row of buildings that looked familiar in the general direction of where the plane landed. Zoomed in on satellite and saw the first third of what clearly was a plane being taken out of the hangar in th satellite photo. Bingo! It's a grass runway. That why I couldn't see it.

I see there are also two buildings there, and when I zoomed in I see it is an "avio club" so it isn't just a lone runway and hangar, there is a flying club there! Yay!

They had two bicycles at the monastery, so I grabbed one and about 40 minutes later arrived at the airport. As I'm walking around, one guy comes around the corner looking at me very doubtfully. I only speak a little Italian, and he only a little English. My main idea was, I wanted to book a flight so that my wife could ride along, to see how she liked flying also, since it's a long way to my PPL and if she didn't like to fly I might consider going for microplanes since it is less costly and less time, if it turned out I'd be flying alone a lot, etc.