Student pilot & Flying Clubs

Addicted2climbing

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Addicted2climbing
Hello all,

I am a student pilot with 2 of my 3 solos out of the way. I fly out of KVNY and rent a Cessna 172N for $112/hour block ($122 non block) and my instructor runs $45 an hour. I have noticed that when I write down my hobbs time that the Tach time is so much less. sometimes as much as half, especially on days in the pattern only. This has led me to researching flying clubs. Only one in my area with a 172 is the 8 ball flying club out of KVNY. http://www.8ballfc.org/
I am having trouble deciding if joining a club would be worth it for me or if I should just continue renting while I train and possibly join after or look for a plane partnership. I could use some other peoples experience with flying clubs as well as if they were members when they were training.

One hurdle for me is the $3500 buy in which I have, but that money was slated for me to finish my lessons. Also dues are $140 a month. Cessna 172N rents for $97.63/ hr Tach time.

My last lesson renting was over $350 for 2 hours hobbs plane rental and instructor... This makes the club seem worth it. Now that I have my tax return which I plan to use to finish up, I see myself flying 2x a week which also makes use of the $140 dues...

I learned to fly Sailplanes through a club and could never have afforded it otherwise. The sailplane club really worked out for me, but unsure if in my situation as a student if it will be beneficial. I would love to own a taildragger one day but due to hanger fees in the Los Angeles area being a member of a club also makes sense...

Any 8ball members on here?

Best regards,

Marc