Student Loans are out of control

francisco collazos

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
ciscovet
So twice over the last two weeks someone has posted loan terms for going to flight academy. The one last week had a variable interest rate of 17% and the one last night was a 100k loan at 20%. The posts on the one last night were shut down after most people tried to explain to the poster that he'd be paying 400k for that 100k loan. According to the moderators the page was an aviation page and not a finance page and not up for discussion. I think these loans are predatory and I don't understand how someone can think this is a good idea. All it takes is one layoff or furlough and you are screwed possibly for life with loans that can't be discharged via bankruptcy. Unfortunately, my profession is close to this problem and the majority of graduates get placed on repayment plans which I see as t modern indentured servitude. I really think something needs to be done about this because the people in my profession are not stupid, these are very intelligent hard working people that still get duped into getting these loans. I figured I would post this here in the pilot training forum but if it's in the wrong place please move it.
Thanks

It’s kind of a chicken and egg situation to some degree. These folks want to pursue Aviation, but don’t have the means necessary to pay for it out of pocket, especially if they’re wanting a fast track program. Those schools do a great job with marketing, to the point where most of the people going to them think that’s the only pathway to reach their goal and then get suckered into the whole system.

But yeah, loans with those kinds of terms are basically designed to keep you in financial ruin. You pretty much never touch the principal and just keep feeding the lender until you die.

ftfy