Student Landings

dcat127

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Electro
I am a student pilot with around 40 hours. My landings are still not as good as I wish. I recently purchased a GoPro camera, which has been helpful in reviewing exactly what I am doing wrong. My biggest problem is occasionally touching down with the nose too low. Sportys course on landings says that "the nose wheel should be well away" at touchdown...doesn't really tell me much. On the my landings that I am calling "good", I see the mains touchdown while the nose wheel is still about 1-2" off the runway. Can anyone put a number on what would be the perfect pitch attitude at touchdown?

There is no ‘number’ for the best pitch attitude at touchdown.

Focus on getting the airplane a foot or so above the runway and just hold it off in a flat attitude until it starts to run out of energy and then begin to ease back on the yoke so the main’s touch the pavement before the nose wheel.

There is no perfect number. Varies from model to model and even somewhat from airframe to airframe even if the same model. Landing isn't always paint by numbers. It will get you close, but at some point, you gotta color without the lines.

A lot of times ppl get over the numbers. They get into ground effect and just freeze as far as elevator control. Even if your flared ok over the numbers or even a bit flat. As the airplane tries to slow down. Without more elevator input the nose is going to want to go down to try to maintain the airspeed your trimmed for. Hence the feeling like it’s all good and you wait for it via inaction then wham you are on the nosegear.
You got to keep slowly pulling back on the yoke as you slow the plane down to maintain that flared attitude. Elevator authority gets muddier the slower you get. Expect that. Look for that feeling.
Jerk it took quick and you are going to rise up and then fall quick-no bueno

What kind of airplane?