Stewart Systems

tonycondon

Gastons CRO (Chief Dinner Reservation Officer)
Display Name

Display name:
Tony
http://www.stewartsystems.aero/

I know ive seen mention of it by a few folks here. I talked with them at OSH and my big question is: "Is there ANY good reason to use Poly Fiber when this is an option?"

tom,

for someone with a fair bit of experience with poly fiber, is it that much more difficult to do the Stewart system?

I know ive seen mention of it by a few folks here. I talked with them at OSH and my big question is: "Is there ANY good reason to use Poly Fiber when this is an option?"

No!

I had them stop at Baraboo and give a small demonstration. It really opened some eyes. I have been using the system on my Cougar rebuild and plan on using it to paint a 170B and a Champ. If you think the covering is good stuff wait till you try the paint stripper. When you get done you can use it to wash your hands.

I will say it has a learning curve, I have been a painter professionally and you cannot paint the same way. It is all on timing you cannot go by feel like I am used to. If you did not get the DVD's they gave me permission to copy and distribute them.

Dan

tom,

for someone with a fair bit of experience with poly fiber, is it that much more difficult to do the Stewart system?

I would say the Stewart System is better for a beginner. You cannot make a mistake other than cutting the fabric. If you did not line things up right you just peal it back and do it again. If the fabric did not lay down you just hit it with the iron or add a little more glue.

Dan

tom,

NO not dificult, different that's all you need to see what the system is, and how to use it.

The fabric gluing and painting has been fine so far. Mixing (minimum 5 minutes of stirring, not shaking) to the DROP of water, air temp and humidity are critical. We did our first fill/primer layer on the fiberglass cowl yesterday and should top coat with Ag Cat yellow in a few days.