Stepping out of the comfort zone

Ryan7943

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Ryan7943
After cancelling a local flight this morning that was definitely do-able it got me thinking that I need to start testing the waters a little more. I am only a 75 hour private pilot, but I think I'm still being too conservative when it comes to weather. I'm finding that I'm cancelling flights on days where I definitely should be flying. What scared me today was showers slowly creeping in from the west. Sky conditions are high overcast and light winds, but when I checked the radar and saw those showers it made me chicken out. Does anyone have any tips to help me step out of the comfort zone a little bit?

Where are you based? Showers in Florida are different than showers in Colorado Springs.

After cancelling a local flight this morning that was definitely do-able it got me thinking that I need to start testing the waters a little more. I am only a 75 hour private pilot, but I think I'm still being too conservative when it comes to weather. I'm finding that I'm cancelling flights on days where I definitely should be flying. What scared me today was showers slowly creeping in from the west. Sky conditions are high overcast and light winds, but when I checked the radar and saw those showers it made me chicken out. Does anyone have any tips to help me step out of the comfort zone a little bit?

A no-go doesn't make you a chicken. There are lots of days when one shouldn't be flying. As a 75-hour private pilot without an instrument rating, there are going to be more of those days than for someone with more experience, more ratings, and more airplane.