STec 3100 vs. Garmin GFC 500 autopilot opinions sought

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by Artimas, Jan 8, 2019.

  1. Artimas

    Artimas Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Artimas
    I currently have an Stec 30 autopilot. I want to upgrade to a full function digital one.

    I can get an STec 3100 and keep my existing servos to save money, but to get full function including altitude preselect, I need a baro source. The most obvious choice to me means adding an Aspen ProMax which will probably be a total of around $30,000 installed.
    or
    I can get a Garmin GFC500 with dual G5s which will probably be around $22,000 installed for similar functionality.

    Navigator is a Garmin 530W.

    The Aspen probably has slightly more functionality, but I have friends who have had problems with them (perhaps the Max will make them more reliable with built in AHRS).

    Garmin has redundancy.

    I'd sure appreciate opinions to help me work through this pleasant dilemma.
    Thanks.
     
  2. Unit74

    Unit74 Ejection Handle Pulled

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5,022
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Unit74
    Question is going to be do you want an air data computer or not. The G5/GFC is a very powerful combo but lacks the air data, FD, AoA and Syn Viz among other things.Very basic functions for a PFD, perhaps by design. The Aspen/Stec is going to mirror the Garmin offering but give you more flight data and options. For $8k, I'd take the Garmin gear unless you are a serious, serious pilot racking up serious hours a year and making serious money doing it.
     
  3. dans2992

    dans2992 En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,141
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dans2992
    Does the G5/GFC500 combo not have a flight director? Which AP _does_ the G5 have FD capability on then!?
     
  4. chartbundle

    chartbundle Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    881
    Location:
    State of Confusion
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    chartbundle
    Well, according to the G5 Pilot's Guide, yes the GFC500 does have a flight director on the G5(single or dual cue). Which makes sense because the control head has an 'FD' button.
     
  5. Unit74

    Unit74 Ejection Handle Pulled

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5,022
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Unit74
    Yes my bad. The GFC/G5 gives you the purple FD bars. I was reflecting on my plane and the convo about the GFC vs TT set up and FD came up in my mind. As of right now, it’s still locked into the Garmin navigator for the STC though for the G5.
     
  6. dans2992

    dans2992 En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,141
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dans2992
    Yep. We just put in a G5 with an STEC 55X (existing). No FD.
     
  7. Ray Eaker

    Ray Eaker Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Richmond Hill
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Raymo
    Might want to consider the Aspen E5 (upgrade-able to SynVis and AOA) with the TruTrak AP, as well.
     
  8. Artimas

    Artimas Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Artimas
    Thanks to all. I am mulling this over. I have until September to decide (date of my avionics install), so I can take my time.
     
  9. GRG55

    GRG55 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    5,599
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Aztec Flyer
    OP didn't say what airplane he's fitting out. TruTrak has a rather limited STC list for certified models at present.
     
  10. Hang 4

    Hang 4 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2017
    Messages:
    327
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Hang 4
    I have the same existing AP. I looked at the same choice, the current list for the STEC 3100 is limited to some higher end types. Definitely want to check if it's really an option.
     
  11. Unit74

    Unit74 Ejection Handle Pulled

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5,022
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Unit74
    OP.... Have you done a dollars to doughnuts side-by-side of each APs features yet? Like, make a spreadsheet or go Ol' Skool and stick and paper? May help you decide. That's how I decided I wanted an Aspen E5 and Trutrak someday.... Maybe...
     
  12. Radar Contact

    Radar Contact Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,373
    Location:
    Illinois
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Kevin
    Can't you get a G5 AI for the source? If you want to save some vs the Aspen. I would think, especially considering Genesys's upgrade option for you, the 3100 would be the best option for what you're looking for.
     
  13. Artimas

    Artimas Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Artimas
    I'm not sure the G5 I plays nice with the 3100.
     
  14. Radar Contact

    Radar Contact Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,373
    Location:
    Illinois
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Kevin
    Depends on what your definition of plays nice is. It will hook into the G5 HSI via the GAD29B and you can set the heading bug, fly nav, gpss, flies the vertical portion of an ILS/LPV, etc. It doesn't connect to the G5 AI so you can't set your altitude there, you would need to set it in the 3100.

    I'm really happy with everything the 3100 offers (GPSS, envelope protection, IAS climbs/descents, yaw damper, etc)and how it connects to a dual G5 setup. I don't mind setting the altitude on the 3100 vs the G5. If I'm lucky, I will have some videos showing it in the next few months. :)
     
    flyingcheesehead likes this.
  15. Arrow76R

    Arrow76R Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Arrow76r
    I have looked into upgrading my S-TEC 30 (with auto-trim) to the 3100 BUT S-TEC does not have an STC for the PA 28R model and, when I contacted them, they have no plans at all to include this Piper model series for the 3100. Very disappointed in that decision enough so that I'm looking at scrapping the entire S-TEC install and going with the Garmin GFC 500 product.
     
  16. Arrow76R

    Arrow76R Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Arrow76r
     
  17. Arrow76R

    Arrow76R Filing Flight Plan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Arrow76r
    Forgot to add that I also have the dual G5 set-up and had looked forward to coupling them with the S-TEC 3100 to save some $$ by using the existing servos. Best laid plans!! On to the GFC-500!!