Starting to think about piloting

Eric Williams

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Eric
Hello all, I am brand new to the idea of actually being a pilot, I have always wanted to be one but never thought that it something I would be able to do. I am in my later 30s and I am finishing nursing school here in a few weeks. I don't do good with not being mentally stimulated so I started to think about what I want to do in another 10 years, where I want to be, and I really think that I would like to marry my nursing with being a pilot. I am going into low income nursing, mostly with the native community here in north america, and a lot of populations (esp. in canada) can only be reached by plane. I have a few ideas of where I would like to get to, ideally twin engine with 1000 mile range, but I know that is at least 5-10 years off. I figured getting to know some pilots and finding a support system for a dream like this is a good place to start. Hopefully in 2-3 months I can start looking at flight school. I have a billion questions and thoughts, but I realize chomping at the bit does me no good, So I thought I would start with an introduction and a hello. I look forward to getting to know some of you and hopefully developing some friendships and mentors as I start my journey.

on the AOPA Forums, look for a user with the handle "Nealkas". He is an RN and a pilot. So he is very qualified to speak with you about the future in both endeavors.

If you (or anyone else who reads this post) is in the Dallas/Ft Worth area, I'm always willing to meet up with folks who are in the "I want to get started" phase and provide them with information and ask questions.

If you have $10k or so free then at least start with your PPL training. Then from there your instrument license. Everyone starts from there, and it will either fuel the fire or put it out. Then you will be in a better place to make decisions on what path you want to follow.