Starting the IR/PPL blues

infotango

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
rob!
So now that I have been a private pilot for about a month, I've realized just how useless the rating is. Whenever I want to go somewhere it's either 1) too windy 2) IMC 3) no plane is available. Most of my friends can't afford their pro rata share of flying with me, so even when I take friends flying it doesn't really reduce my costs at all. Fact is, I'm a goal driven person, and I really enjoy training for things. I've noticed that it is much easier the justify the 85/hr plane rental when I am learning something as opposed to just burning holes in the sky. So I've decided to start training for the Instrument Rating.

I'm looking for tips and suggestions, as to what books to buy, recommended foggles, and comments on whether my plan to accomplish at least 50 percent of the training in actual is insane. I'm currently working my way through the FAA's instrument guides (Instrument Flying Handbook, aviator's guide to NAS and the AIM) which seem pretty helpful, but I'd like a 2nd source as well. I also need some of the PIC xc time still, so I am wondering about what percentage of that can be done while training for the IR, and any tips people have to speed that whole process along.

I'm looking foward to hearing your experiences, recommendations, and stories.

My hopes for doing this are to 1)instill a greater level of confidence in my flying 2) have an IR to ease navigating the airspace around the NE where I primarily fly 3) be able to use the IR to fly when other people aren't renting the airplanes 4) have a blast while continuing to learn things.

Last edited:
infotango said:
I'm a goal driven person, and I really enjoy training for things.
Good for you training is always a good thing to be doing and the IR will really help you be a better pilot able to better judge the weather and deal with ATC.

infotango said:
I'm looking for tips and suggestions, as to what books to buy,