Starting back, again.. Cessna 162 Skycatcher this time

Brad W

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
BLW2
So yesterday was a nice scattered cloud kind of day, no wind, so I called to see if by off chance there was a plane and CFI available. Sadly no available instructors that would fit in their smaller planes which were available....bummer, woudl have been a great day for it.
next weekend is no good for me, so I went ahead and booked something 2 weekends out

Decided to book it in their C-162 Skycatcher. A little cheaper and it seems like it's more available than their fleet of tired C-172's and 150's. I figured it's would be another plane to add to my list + I have no experience flying behind a fully "glass" panel so that could be an added bonus of experience. I'm looking forward to it! It looks like the wing loading is a hair more than the 150 and 152...so I'm thinking the ride shouldn't be any worse at least....
then again, maybe there is a reason it seems to be more available....

I had to go look, the last time I flew anything smaller than a C-172 was Sept 1999. That was a joy ride in a 152 on a windy day, and it woke me up for sure....

I guess I'll find out about the little LSA, and can always switch to a different type for my second flight.. no doubt it'll take a few flights to get current again...it's been a while. My last flight behind the controls was early 2020 in a C-172...and the last time I was current and proficient, it was 2002 and 2003, a bunch of flights renting a C-177RG

So yesterday was a nice scattered cloud kind of day, no wind, so I called to see if by off chance there was a plane and CFI available. Sadly no available instructors that would fit in their smaller planes which were available....bummer, woudl have been a great day for it.
next weekend is no good for me, so I went ahead and booked something 2 weekends out