Starting Again

matt_turner1

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Matt
Hey all - I was a student pilot a long while back and I have about 55 hours and had all of my requirements met, gearing up for my checkride when my CFI (good friend) got a new job and I got married so the whole thing fell apart. I am finally going back to get my license completed.

I met with an instructor today and found a good flight club. Now I need to brush up on my written and practical, get my medical exam, go for some brush up flights with the instructor so he can put me through the drills and retrain me on any if necessary, and get that checkride DONE!

I have a few questions right of the top of my head, hoping someone has some good insight and I'll keep posting in this thread as I make progress.

-I need a new flight bag. I saw sportys crosswind flight gear bag. thinking of getting this one.
-I have a david clark headset - works fine, but if I can find a good noise canceling I would be interested. I am still a little shy on the coms so being able to hear and speak clearly is helpful.
-I am doing FAR/AIM Part 61 (I don't need college cred, I am just flying for fun)
-I have an older set of King DVDs I am going to run through.
-I need a good ONLINE testing system so I can drill drill drill. Both for Written exam as well as anything related to checkride.
-I would love to look into using my IPAD for flying.
-Right now I will be doing work in a 152, but I will get checked out in a 172 with Garman 1000 (I know this will take a little computer work to get to know it)
-I have a mac - so any software needs to work with that.
-I need a good Checkride checklist.
-I joined AOPA

Thanks in advance for help, I look forward to reading through the posts here and trying to get info on my own as well as waiting to hear your replies.

For a bag, I got a Brightline bag soon after my PPL. Liked it.