Started Flying Again Today.

ki4lzk

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Joshua Jones
I took a flight lesson for the first time in basically 4 years today. It was a lot of fun and I remember why I was interested in the first place. I got to the airport about 12:45, met the flight instructor and we went over all the materials that I have. The only additional thing I 'had' to buy was the private pilot test prep book.

It was a little breezy at KMHK this afternoon. Sustained winds of 18 with Gusts of 26. I did the preflight and we got in the plane. I remembered a few things but had forgotten quite a bit as well. I only had 1/2 an hour prior today in my logbook so that isn't surprising (I have flown with other pilots that... taught me about the instruments, so I have some background with them.) We went through the pre-taxi checklist when the Instructor went over everything that is included in communicating with ground and the tower. A minute went by and he asked If I was ready to taxi... Well Yeah... I was just waiting for him to get clearance. At this point he informs me I get to handle the radios too.

"Manhattan Ground, November 4 8 9 2 Juliet, At the Kansas Air Center ready for taxi."

"Cessna 4 8 9 Juliet, Manhattan Ground, Taxi via Delta Alpha Crossing Runway 31 to Runway 21."

At this point I was stuck. Then I remembered I need to repeat what was said.
"Taxi via Delta Alpha Crossing Runway 31 to Runway 21, Skyhawk 92 Juliet."

So we get down to the run-up area we get finished with that and we get clearance to take off. Up we go! At 1000 ft AGL I make a left turn and fly east toward manhattan. We fly over the football stadium and into the practice area. We do a couple of turns, Ascend, Descend and then a few Descending Turns and we head back to the airport.