Staring Tailwheel Endorsement

azpilot

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
azpilot
I made some calls around to different FBO's and I'll be starting my tailwheel enforsement this coming Friday! I'm pretty excited about it. We'll be flying in an Cessna 120.

I'm a private pilot and coming up on 120 hours.

For those of you that have it, about how many hours should I expect?

Think about how long it took you to first solo.

That said all the ones I inked I also soloed, inking it without letting you solo is a bit different.

I think I had 7.5 hours when I got my endorsement. I also had a decently long cross country thrown in there.

There was a point where I couldn't get handle the idea of the tail coming up on takeoff. I took a week to ponder things and once I reconciled it in my mind, the training went very smoothly.

Have fun!

Cessna 120.... stay off the brakes :)

Got mine 2 years ago in 4.5 hours. Honestly I was planning on 10. Aeronca Chief 11CC. Great fun.

The big question is do you have a TW you can fly after the training and solo? I flew 34 hours last year in a J5 hoping it will be more than that this year.

IIRC, about 8 hours including one near excursion into the weeds.

Cheers

Cessna 120.... stay off the brakes :)

Nearly any GA trainer operating on most any charted runway in the US...stay off the brakes.

I started my training from the very beginning in a J-3 Cub. Let's leave off my first half-hour introductory flight since my next logbook entry was almost a year later. I had 13.5 hours when I was signed off to solo and started my nose wheel transition. Given that you don't have to learn how to fly, just how to taxi, takeoff, and land, it should take less than that, but be patient whether it takes 2 hours or 20. The main thing is to fly all the way to the tiedown and not taxi faster than a brisk walking pace. Oh, and don't try any of this on your first day, except maybe the "dismount" technique:

Is the propensity to nose over really that bad?