SSRI Special Issuance

Jason E

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
osuaviator
Hello, I am looking for anyone out there that might be in the same situation as I am and awaiting SI from the FAA with SSRI.

I am a pilot with a major airline, 1st class medical. I self grounded myself for depression issues Jan 1, 2019. I went through the HIMS program through a very well known clinic. I successfully completed all of the requirements per the HIMS program. I was signed off by my AME over 9 months ago. I did receive mail from the FAA after 6 months seeking updated information. That was sent back within a week. My AME has followed up numerous times with the FAA and that this timeline is unacceptable. I recently reached out to my state senator about my situation as well as other pilots in the same situation and awaiting approval from the FAA. They have sent out a message to the FAA and now still waiting to see if anything happens. I had no idea that this would take so long to get back to work. I am hopeful that I hear something soon but wanted to see if there is anyone out there with the same situation.

Last edited:
Unfortunately there are many of us who are in the “line up and wait” category. FAA timelines are completely unacceptable....but what are we to do?

The timeline is completely unacceptable IMO. The whole point of self grounding and going through the HIMS program is to give airman a way to get better and get back to work and feeling well. I don't understand why the FAA needs all this time to review cases when the airman has gone through the hard work of an FAA approved HIMS program and has been deemed safe to return to work by an FAA approved HIMS AME. The doctors have done all the work, so this should be a sign and send thing for the FAA. Pilots will not utilize this system if they are aware that it takes this long to get back in the air or back in the air at all. Just my opinion.

Last edited: