Squawk 1200?

Discussion in 'Change to my Frequency...' started by Groundpounder, Aug 2, 2020 at 1:43 PM.

  1. Groundpounder

    Groundpounder Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,586
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Amanda Hugandkiss
    Hey ATC'ers, if I am on flight following with a discrete transponder code, and you cut me loose to go to CTAF, but do not specifically say "squawk VFR", do you expect me to stay on my assigned squawk till I am on the ground?
     
  2. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    7,291
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Timbeck2
    If they say "radar services terminated, squawk VFR, frequency change approved" then squawk 1200. If they don't, keep your code until you land.
     
    N1120A and GeorgeC like this.
  3. Shawn

    Shawn En-Route

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,998
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Shawn
    "Radar Services Terminated", "Squawk VFR" and "Frequency Change Approved" are three separate and very distinct instructions and one does not mean the other.
     
    TCABM likes this.
  4. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,924
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    I dunno. I never let the situation happen. Either said squawk VFR, or if I wanted you to stay on the code you were on I would say so. There is a thing in the AIM that tells you to just do it in some situation. I don’t have time to go looking for it right now.
     
  5. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    7,291
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Timbeck2
    I never implied that it did if your post was directed at me. However I've heard and said same and usually they're all said at the same time. I used commas, not periods.
     
  6. Shawn

    Shawn En-Route

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,998
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Shawn
    No, not at all. My point was that many plots think of that as just one instruction cuz that is typically what they hear vs three separate instructions then are caught off guard not knowing what to do if one or more is left out of the transmission for whatever reason.

    At my home field, it is common to keep your squawk all the way to the the ground even after canceling FF. Airspace can be busy and even though they are no longer talking to you ATC knows your intentions when advising other aircraft.
     
  7. Lycosaurus

    Lycosaurus Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,129
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Alfio
    In Canada we are required to keep our assigned code until landed, unless instructed otherwise (low likelihood). Some of you may be visiting us again ... some time in the near future. Thought this might help.
     
    Let'sgoflying! and Palmpilot like this.
  8. Velocity173

    Velocity173 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    12,059
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Velocity173
    They’re supposed to tell you to squawk VFR / 1200 but if they didn’t say, I’d just stay up your code. Just don’t depart on your next flight with the old discrete code. ;)

    57AC4094-209E-4BD2-8415-ADF792B57FB9.jpeg
     
  9. Palmpilot

    Palmpilot Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    17,582
    Location:
    PUDBY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Richard Palm
    Same on this side of the hills. At the end of my last flight, nobody told me to squawk VFR, so I switched it after exiting the runway at Palo Alto.
     
  10. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,924
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    Do they tell you to keep your code? Or is that just the custom there and the locals just do it?
     
  11. Lycosaurus

    Lycosaurus Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,129
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Alfio
    They generally tell us to keep the code, but if they do not then you are still required to keep it until you have landed. When you think about it, you get free extended flight following when under radar coverage ... and any potential future incursions :)
     
  12. Shawn

    Shawn En-Route

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,998
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Shawn
    Sometimes explicitly, yes....sometimes I get "Squawk VFR", other times I do not...I just simply do what they instruct. Point being one or the other of those two instructions does not necessarily mean the third...and if ever unsure at least query ATC rater than just make an assumption.
     
  13. Groundpounder

    Groundpounder Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,586
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Amanda Hugandkiss
    Thanks all. The local atc has started saying "keep your squawk till the ground" at my home drome. They hadn't in the past, and I have been guilty of squawking 1200 when I terminated with them. Guess I shouldn't have been doing that.
     
  14. sarangan

    sarangan Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Andrew Sarangan, CFII
    There are some places where you must keep your discrete code even after landing. For example, the Washington, DC SFRA.
     
  15. frfly172

    frfly172 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14,298
    Location:
    mass fla
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    ron keating
    I was going through Canada back from Alaska. I was given a code from the tower ,after I cleared the tower control area ,they gave me a frequency change so I changed my transponder to 1200. Wrong choice as I was met by border patrol on landing in the states.
     
  16. jason gula

    jason gula Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2020
    Messages:
    104
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jmarine225
    ive been curious of this situation, so maybe at ATC can help. I keep my code right until shutdown at my base. Sometimes I'll forget to put the transponder on standby after shutdown. So what happens next time I start up, squawking an old transponder code? Curious what comes up on there screen, if anything.
     
  17. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7,924
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    It can be a problem. They will have dropped the track on you making that code available to be assigned to another plane. If the Radar is receiving replies from two airplanes on the same discrete code there are warnings on the Radar. They differ depending on the type of Radar, but they are there and the Controller takes actions to ensure they don’t misidentify a target. A bigger problem could be if the other planes transponder is not being interrogated and/or not replying, they could misidentify the other plane they are talking to as you.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2020 at 10:11 PM