Sport Pilot "one of the worst things to happen to GA"?

jmaynard

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Jay Maynard
Personally I think the "sport pilot" idea ("Let's let people fly with LESS training!") and all that went along with it is one of the worse things to happen to general aviation along the continued tolerance of homebuilt aircraft and ultralights. Suffice to say I believe in increasing standards, not skirting the bare minimum.
I agree that the thread in which this appeared should not be hijacked, but I also believe this is a discussion that needs to happen. As you might guess, I'm rather on the other side of the coin: I'm a private pilot flying an LSA under the sport pilot rule due to medical issues that, while probably not preventing me from getting a special issuance medical, do make it a less than certain thing; I'm not going to risk having my new airplane sit on the ground unused because I can't fly it any more.

I haven't really decided what I think about the sport pilot certificate itself and its training. I do think that, unless we make it easier for folks to get into aviation, they're not going to do it. I also don't have much of an opinion about Part 103-compliant ultralights; OTOH, I do think that the so-called "fat ultralights" did need to either be brought into compliance with the rules or grounded.

I do, however, think that the whole idea of allowing people to fly on the same medical qualifications as a driver's license is long overdue, and too limited. I've been told that SP is a testbed for greatly relaxing or eliminating the third class medical requirements, and I'm all for that. I see no particular reason that someone who can drive safely cannot fly safely. For that matter, I'd support allowing someone to exercise the privileges of a private ticket - with instrument rating, if applicable to the pilot and aircraft - on their driver's license. (Of course I would. :) )