Spark plug fouling while flying LOP?

Fearless Tower

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Fearless Tower
Did a round trip ORF-PHX last week in the Baron and started to experience what I believe was fouled plugs on the right engine. Basically every third leg, I would get an excessive mag drop on the right mag. Running it up to at least 2200 RPM and leaning it out for at least a minute cleared the problem....until it would reappear. Strange thing was that I was running LOP the whole time in cruise (confirmed by the EGTs and CHTs on all cylinders of the engine monitor).

Is spark plug fouling a common problem with
IO-470s? I am still relatively new to them, but I know that plug fouling is pretty common in the lower plugs of O-300s like my 170.

I doubt the lop in cruise was the cause. You sure you weren't excessively rich at some other phase of the flight (approach, landing, taxi, shutdown, startup, taxi, run up) are all points between those legs where you could be getting too rich.

I'm sure you already know it but keep them as lean as absolute possible while on the ground. It's also easy to accidentally take things too rich in the approach to landing phase.

If you go full rich and low power on approach and sty rich for ground ops, you'll load plugs. The only time I'm full rich is when I'm full power near sea level.

Next question though, are you oil fouling or fuel fouling?

Last edited:
How old are the plugs?

You might try two things to get some additional diagnostic information.

1) Watch your individual EGTs during your mag check. They should all rise when running on 1 mag. Any cylinder that doesn't may have a problem. See Savvy Mag Check I've been doing EGT-only based mag checks for a year now but have no useful experience with it yet.

2) Do an inflight mag check. Why? See link above

A little more detail on my question.