South Chicago area questions

Matthew

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Matthew
I'm looking for suggestions on GA airports on the south end of Chicago, near the Homewood/Flossmoor/Matteson/Chicago Heights area.

My family is originally from around there, and I still have some relatives there. I don't know that I'll make the trip, from Kansas City, anytime soon. But planning is half the fun. As a low-time/low-budget pilot I tend to keep my XCs short but, someday!

Thanks,
Matt

Matthew said:
I'm looking for suggestions on GA airports on the south end of Chicago, near the Homewood/Flossmoor/Matteson/Chicago Heights area.

My family is originally from around there, and I still have some relatives there. I don't know that I'll make the trip, from Kansas City, anytime soon. But planning is half the fun. As a low-time/low-budget pilot I tend to keep my XCs short but, someday!

Thanks,
Matt

LOT/Lewis University, or Lansing. I'd have to look on map to see which is closer but I think it's LOT, which is further west. Nice place.

LOT is where the weather station is. You can see the radar which is irradiating you as you stand on the ramp. :rolleyes:

we used to use line boys to test the onboard weather radars at work. they show up really well at a range of about 20 feet, none have gotten cancer yet!

Lansing IGQ is the one you want. Much closer by far than LOT. Frankfurt C18, and New Lenox Howell 1C2 I believe are both closed. Bult (Nee Sanger) C56 is closed for runway construction. I would avoid I-80 down there as well, it is under construction and nearly always backed up.

Thanks, I was getting conflicting information on Frankfurt and New Lennox/Howell whether or not they were closed. I had already started checking into Lansing.

Anyone have any comments on Valparaiso? I've got relatives there too.

Matthew said: