Some things connect to internet, some things don't

Discussion in 'Technical Corner' started by Cap'n Jack, Aug 17, 2017.

  1. Cap'n Jack

    Cap'n Jack Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,148
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Cap'n Jack
    1. Cable modem, Charter communications
    2. Computer can connect and can access web pages (wired connection)
    3. Over WiFi, a RoKu device and an iPad cant connect (iPad can't open web pages). Both see the correct WiFi connection.
    4. A Samsung Tablet over WiFi can access web pages
    5. No changes were made in my equipment
    Any ideas what is going on? WiFi is fine since the SamSung connects. Both the Samsung and computer connect.

    Is it possible to block connection by some things and not others outside of my firewall (I haven't changed it, and it worked yesterday)?
     
  2. eman1200

    eman1200 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    6,820
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    wasn't there another almost identical thread recently that had an explanation related to a roku device? I'll see if I can find it.
     
  3. eman1200

    eman1200 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    6,820
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
  4. Cap'n Jack

    Cap'n Jack Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,148
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Cap'n Jack
    Thanks... some potentially pertinent information there in that other thread.
    I'll try taking the Roku off line and rebooting and see if that restores the iPad. However, this morning, the RoKu was originally the only thing on the network.

    When Charter was TWC, I once had a situation where the only web page that would open was FaceBook (other things such as streaming audio wouldn't work either), but it cleared itself up the next day.
     
  5. Cap'n Jack

    Cap'n Jack Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,148
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Cap'n Jack
  6. Let'sgoflying!

    Let'sgoflying! Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    14,215
    Location:
    west Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Dave Taylor
    The orig thread was mine, still no resolution but every time we connect the 'internet-to-TV box' - boom my laptop sees the wifi but says 'no internet', although other devices are catching the wifi fine.

    When TV watching is done, we unplug the box and I'm back on.
    Instead of looking into the ip4or ipv6 connection changes, we are going to try an AppleTV!
     
  7. Cap'n Jack

    Cap'n Jack Final Approach

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,148
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Cap'n Jack
    Sounds like we had different issues, with the only commonality being a Ruko device.

    Everything still working for me this morning. Some sites I visited last night showed something about resolving an DNS, but the desired page eventually popped up after a second or two. I probably don't have the wording correct in that last sentence since the page was up for a second. But it does suggest some sort of issue with Charter equipment that was resolved, and nothing I could fix at home.
     
  8. Rushie

    Rushie Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    589
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rushie
    We had that problem once when we moved to a new area and connected up to the new ISP. Hubby got there first and connected his PC and laptop and Kindle I think. When I arrived I couldn't connect to save my life. Saw the wifi but wouldn't go out to the internet. I called the service provider and they walked me through all my settings, swore the problem was on my end. Called them a second time got the same story. Finally called a geek service and the guy spent two full days tweaking our devices.

    Finally HE called the provider and got past the help desk to somebody who knew more and found out they were limiting each account to three devices. Yep it was all on their end. They changed us to "unlimited" and then all my things got through.
     
    Let'sgoflying! likes this.
  9. sferguson524

    sferguson524 Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,364
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FormerSocalFlyer
    This is why I will NEVER rent my network gear from the ISP. They have too much control over what happens on the inside of my network in that case. I'll stick to my personally owned firewall, switches, cable modem and access points.