SOCAL Approach and ATIS

davidgfern

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
EE_Pilot
I've been a pilot in San Diego for nearly 30 years, and over the past few years I've noticed that SOCAL no longer provides ATIS information to pilots --- back in the 1990s and early 2000s SOCAL would always provide the current ATIS information to any IFR pilot who was nearing their destination airfield, but now they usually ask if you have the current ATIS, and if you don't, they tell you to advise them when you have it. This practice doesn't seem to be based on controller workload, as I've run into it at all hours of the day or night, but it increases pilot workload at a phase of flight which is already very busy. If there are any SOCAL controllers out there who can comment on this practice I'd be really appreciative for an explanation as to why they do this nowadays.

I dunno know about that. When I flew into LAX we picked up the ATIS, and everywhere else I’ve flown, and I’ve flown just about everywhere. Always got the ATIS. That’s what it’s for, to reduce controller workload, not the pilot’s.

I've been a pilot in San Diego for nearly 30 years, and over the past few years I've noticed that SOCAL no longer provides ATIS information to pilots --- back in the 1990s and early 2000s SOCAL would always provide the current ATIS information to any IFR pilot who was nearing their destination airfield, but now they usually ask if you have the current ATIS, and if you don't, they tell you to advise them when you have it. This practice doesn't seem to be based on controller workload, as I've run into it at all hours of the day or night, but it increases pilot workload at a phase of flight which is already very busy. If there are any SOCAL controllers out there who can comment on this practice I'd be really appreciative for an explanation as to why they do this nowadays.
Perhaps it's a change of general culture?