Socal aerobatics: CP Aviation vs. Sunrise

dudewithacamera

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Nate
Hey all, this is my first post here. By way of introduction, I'm a low time VFR pilot (been flying for about 2.5 years), volunteer with Civil Air Patrol, joined EAA and IAC, and have a dream to learn aerobatics. I live pretty much halfway between CP Aviation in Santa Paula and Sunrise Aviation in Santa Ana. I'm trying to decide which would be better for me to do some tailwheel/spin/aerobatic training.

I went to visit Sunrise and it was a great experience. Michael Church and another instructor personally spent an hour with me explaining their program and honestly answering my questions and even offered to start my training himself. They were not nearly that friendly at CP, but I constantly hear great things about them. Here are some other considerations:

1) Location: I love the small town feel of Santa Paula where you can taxi right onto the runway. Also CP Aviation has wavered airspace adjacent. Sunrise is at a much busier airport, and the practice area is about 20 miles away. However I'm told that it takes that far to climb to altitude in a Decathlon anyway. Will I be wasting a lot of time taxi/straight and level at Sunrise? Are there any disadvantages to flying in wavered airspace?

2) Price: CP Aviation instruction is slightly cheaper, but rentals without instruction are a few bucks cheaper at Sunrise. Both places will allow you to solo after completing their programs, but only Sunrise will allow you to compete in their planes (not sure if I'm interested in this yet). Presumably instruction will be cheaper at CP, and rentals after that will be cheaper at Sunrise.