So that's why we practice no-flap landings!

jpower

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
James
I'm a pretty low-time pilot (120-130 ish hours), and I had my first in-flight issue today--a flaps failure. Some of you are definitely saying to yourselves, "psh, what's the big deal about a no-flap landing?" Well, nothing really. Just that it's out of the ordinary and I learned from it, so I figured I'd share.

I had just come back from doing a little sightseeing in a 172P, and I figured I'd shoot a few touch and goes just for the fun of it. When I was on base for my full stop, I could tell that something wasn't right with the approach. I looked around and saw that my flaps weren't down at all! By this time I was about to turn final, and I didn't want to mess with things, so I flipped the switch back to "up" and made a greaser of a no-flap landing. When I taxied off, I tried the flaps again, and they started coming down with no issues. Weird!

A couple of takeaways:

First, when I started processing the chain of events, I couldn't figure out how I didn't notice that the flaps weren't coming out, because there's usually a noticeable change in pitch. It wasn't perfectly smooth, so I must have subconsciously chalked up the lack of a pitch change to turbulence. I'm also not in the habit of visually confirming the flap position either with the indicator or with a glance at the wings. I'm definitely going to be paying more attention to that.

Secondly, and more importantly, I'm happy that I'd done plenty of no-flap landings before, including one in this particular airplane during my checkout. It really is a non-event, but the extra speed and different sight picture could catch you off guard if you didn't know what to expect. Also, this particular airplane has a very aggressive cruise prop, so it floats and floats and floats. I was ready for it and made sure to be slow enough over the numbers.