Sleep Apnea and Third Class Medical

DocPiper2

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Doc
I am a private pilot, instrument rated, and currently hold a third class medical. The third class medical is valid until December of this year. I've been having trouble sleeping lately so my Doctor advised that I have a sleep study performed. I did and to my surprise I was diagnosed with moderate obstructive sleep apnea. I contacted AOPA Medical and they told me to send a copy of my sleep study, a letter from my Doctor describing my diagnosis and that treatment is correcting the problem and a copy of the download from the CPAP device chip indicating that I have been using the device and am complying with treatment. I also asked AOPA if I need to ground myself until I get an Ok from the FAA. They said that technically I am legal to fly since I have a current medical. Is this correct? Shouldn't I ground myself until all this is straightened out?

If you read 61.53, you'll see that if you have a disqualifying condition, you must ground yourself until it is resolved or you receive a Special Issuance or other FAA approval. The fact that you have done all the things necessary to get FAA approval but don't have it yet isn't sufficient even if your medical doesn't expire for a while. That said, I don't know that what you have is in fact disqualifying -- wait for Bruce on that -- he'll be along shortly.

According to the AOPA it's not a disqualifying condition. For that reason, they said I could continue to fly but....if I got into an accident... my aircraft insurance would not cover it

I have OSA and the Required SI. I don't think I'd have the SI unless it was disqualifying.