Sleep apnea and disclosure

U

Unregistered

I've used a CPAP machine for several years, since a few years before I started learning to fly. It's well-controlled and no issues, my sleep doc concurs, etc.

But -- due to some pretty bad advice, I didn't disclose it when I got my first medical. I want to, and as far as the condition goes I'm confident the therapy and my compliance is good (wakefullness and everything). But of course, the non-disclosure is a problem.

Hopefully Dr. Bruce or someone else will have some helpful direction. I know the decision was wrong, and it's completely out of sorts for me to do something like that, but I can't take back the past decision. I've been beating myself up pretty good about it for a while. I just need to figure out what to do next to properly disclose, and hopefully still satisfy the FAA and their requirements.

Thanks.

Well, if at your next contact with FAA (and this can be an accident, an incident or a "deal") you present unequivocal evidence that you are qualified to hold the SI, they will give you the SI and warn you about operation. I have never had "discipline" occur because of this one.

There are many strings here as to what you need for the initial SI....
Initial sleep study.
Current status report with 4 components.
CPAP machine download >31 days, showing >75% of nights with >6 hours use and an acceptably low AHI.

But don't come up short. If you try to skive the requirements you get the demand letter and the 30 day denial threat, which they do follow through upon.

Last edited:
Thanks, doc for the quick and clear guidance. Crazy thing is, I allowed someone (trusted and in the professional aviation field) at the time to "help" me believe that use of the CPAP was not really technically reportable, but since then it's become quite crystal clear to me that it's prescribed, and therefore it's reportable - as I had initially suspected. Lessons learned.