skybeacon

Discussion in 'Maintenance Bay' started by coloradobluesky, Nov 17, 2017.

  1. coloradobluesky

    coloradobluesky En-Route

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    3,608
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    coloradobluesky
    Skybeacon has an ADS B design that is quite clever.
    https://www.uavionix.com/products/skybeacon/

    The instructions say to mount it on the wingtip using the existing light socket. Then connect the red wire and black wire. The unit has an LED position light built in. And you are ready to go. Now maybe Im missing something. Wouldn't it be necessary to turn on your position lights to get the ADS B to have power? How is that going to pass certification? Seems kind of trivial, but I would think you are going to have to pull a wire also. I don't know how much of a deal breaker that is but...

    Also there are a myriad of position lights and I know mine has built in strobe, so they are going to have to have a lot of models.
     
  2. N3368K

    N3368K Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    902
    Location:
    Collierville, TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JimR
    The current lack of provision for strobe is the biggest drawback to me. But, with a low wing (RV-4) I’m not keen on the antenna hanging down at kneecap level either. Just seems too easy to break. I’m leaning towards the echoUAT or Levil’s beacon, either of which I’ll install myself. I like that Levil has a panel mounted LCD display of squawk, altitude which echo does not, requiring wireless device such as iPhone to see output. Levil is about $450 more though.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  3. Capt. Geoffrey Thorpe

    Capt. Geoffrey Thorpe Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    10,128
    Location:
    DXO124009
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Light and Sporty Guy
    Yes. And why would that be a problem? Any installation is going to at least have a breaker (not to mention the master switch).
     
  4. iflyvfr

    iflyvfr Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Greg
    I've been watching this with interest for a while. I note their website states "There is a version of SkyBeacon with anti-collision lights (strobes) under development." I paid a lot of $$ to add Whelen strobes to my wingtips so I'm not interested in giving them up unless I can sell them to defray costs and get LED strobes on both sides. Of course, I'm certified so it's probably 3 years away and 3x the cost anyway.

    I do applaud the simplicity & creativity if it pans out & comes to market.
     
  5. N3368K

    N3368K Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    902
    Location:
    Collierville, TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JimR
    “In development” = additional cost...which makes me lean towards other options.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  6. Paulie

    Paulie Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    552
    Location:
    Naples fl
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    paulie
    Uavionix says it will be certified first quarter 2018. If you want to know how it's powered why not read the installation manual rather than asking here? You can also call uavionix, they are quick to respond. I have a echo in my RV7 and when available putting s beacon in my Mooney.
     
  7. Timbeck2

    Timbeck2 En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    4,215
    Location:
    Vail, Arizona
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Timbeck2
    [​IMG]

    You must have really long legs and yes I read that you have an RV4.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2017
  8. N3368K

    N3368K Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    902
    Location:
    Collierville, TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JimR
    I have fairly normal length legs but the RV-4 legs are the earlier short ones which put the nav lights fairly low.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  9. ZeroPapaGolf

    ZeroPapaGolf Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    591
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    formerly 'cheap weenie'
    Per the dimensions in the install guide it’s only 4.8” tall including the light portion. So the antenna blade is in the 3.5-4” range.
     
  10. N3368K

    N3368K Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    902
    Location:
    Collierville, TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    JimR
    [​IMG]

    Here’s a picture of the left wingtip of my RV-4. Anything below the light housing would be unsupported and just about the right height above the ground to easily be bumped into. Even 3.5-4” would be good leverage to break something if some or somebody runs into it.



    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  11. Leo

    Leo Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Leo
    Lock forward for the certification!
     
  12. SoCal RV Flyer

    SoCal RV Flyer Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,815
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    SoCal RV Flyer
    I thought about the SkyBeacon solution, but instead of mounting it externally I thought about putting it inside the wingtip and having the antenna fin extend through a slot in the underside. But now I'm leaning toward the Echo with the SkySafe WAAS GPS.
     
  13. unsafervguy

    unsafervguy Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,162
    Location:
    Sw florida
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    bob

    come on soCal, you know the solution is a dual 10 inch skyview with all the extras..... you know you want it, its only money........
     
  14. coloradobluesky

    coloradobluesky En-Route

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    3,608
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    coloradobluesky
    If you use the existing wiring, its going to turn off when you turn off the lights. I don't think that will ever get certified. I I wouldnt want that arrangement. You're going to have to pull a wire and connect it to the transponder/avionics power bus. Still, neat idea and likely less expensive than anything else. Trouble is, my plane has the strobes in the light too, so it has to fit your lighting fixture too. Not sure they will have one for everyone out there. Hope so though!
     
  15. Leo

    Leo Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Leo
    Ha!thats true! Good point.
     
  16. Leo

    Leo Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Leo
    It’s a new product? It’s already certified?, installation it’s easy? Price seems good.