Skybeacon and old transponders?

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by lancie00, Jan 7, 2019.

  1. lancie00

    lancie00 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    476
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    lancie00
    Ok, so supposedly the Skybeacons are now shipping. I was wondering if anyone has installed one with an old transponder and if it worked? We have an old Genave BETA/5000 in our Arrow and I've been hoping that we could install an $1850 Skybeacon instead of $4500 for a GTX335. Yes, I've thought about a GDL82 but I keep hearing there's $2000 install cost. If I'm going to do that, I may as well get the GTX.

    If they work, I know I would put one in and I know a couple of FBO's would get them for their trainers.

    No I don't fly for a living. No I don't have GPS. No I don't have the money for a GTN650. I just want to be able to fly into a Class C after 1/1/20 and not feel like the red headed step-child.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. CC268

    CC268 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,524
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    CC268
    Lol I hope so. We are getting ours installed soon and we have an old Narco transponder.
     
  3. Badger

    Badger Pattern Altitude PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,992
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Badger
    from sky beacon FAQ:

    Which transponders does the skyBeacon work with?


    The skyBeacon will work with any Mode C and Mode S transponder. Due to the unique design and technology of the skyBeacon, there is no need to run any new wiring to the transponder.
     
  4. bradg33

    bradg33 Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,394
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Esquire99
    I went through this not long ago. So let me ask this, what's your option if (when?) that Genave transponder quits? Can it be serviced for a reasonable price? Gonna have to be replaced? I concluded I was "safer" in that regard buy going with a new GTX335 than relying on an older transponder. You can eat up the cost savings quite quickly if your transponder goes and you can't easily fix or replace it with a used one.
     
    CC268 likes this.
  5. EppyGA

    EppyGA Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    10,422
    Location:
    Hoschton, GA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Let's Fly
    Wonder how many cheap used transponders are on the market due to folks out buying new ones to meet the ADS-B mandate.
     
  6. CC268

    CC268 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    5,524
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    CC268
    Yea I can agree with you there. I had this discussion with my dad about our Cherokee. We have an old Narco transponder that has already been serviced twice (once by the previous owner and once by us). Thankfully we have been able to fix it so far. I'm with you - I would have preferred to replace the transponder from the get go. But that's alright, I can understand my dad's point of view too.
     
  7. lancie00

    lancie00 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    476
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    lancie00
    Ebay. There are lot's of Garmin GTX327's for sale in the $300-$400 range.
     
  8. bradg33

    bradg33 Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,394
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Esquire99
    That was part of my calculus. But when you put the new xponder in, you have to get it tested, etc. All of a sudden, the delta gets pretty small. I ultimately fell on the side of "whole new box," but I also (now, as part of this upgrade) have a GPS that will provide the position source and I installed it myself. So the original price difference between a SkyBeacon and a GTX335 was only about $1k.
     
  9. tceq24443

    tceq24443 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    DFW, Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    cyberbryan
    If you have an old transponder, I would think twice about the skybeacon… delta is small
     
  10. lancie00

    lancie00 Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    476
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    lancie00
    Please tell me more. Does this mean it won't work?
     
  11. tceq24443

    tceq24443 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    DFW, Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    cyberbryan